FAITH

Every night I pray to you in hopes of receiving an answer. I pray to become a better person as a whole and someone worthy of being a friend, partner, sister and daughter. I pray you guide me through this entire journey, giving me direction, showing me what exactly went so wrong along the way.

I pray you give me counsel, support and strength to face whatever is to come. I pray you make me a calm, mature, respectful and respectable person. I pray you open my eyes and widen my horizons, allowing me to distinguish right from wrong. I pray you give me the assertiveness to make the best decisions for myself, because it’s about time I put me before anyone else.

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

I pray because I hope. I hope because I have faith it’ll all straighten out someday. I have faith because I cannot wait for the day I see the light at the end of the tunnel. I pray not because I’m religious, nor do I have a religion, but because I so desperately need guidance, and am struggling to stay hopeful and sane. I’ll depend on myself to find the direction I need rather than on someone or some sort of comfort out there I seek, since in nothingness we find clarity and it is only then, that we truly find peace within ourselves, and this too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

